Hey there, Georgie girl!

Well, here’s a blog post I never thought I’d write – hope springs eternal between Georgie and me. I’m not getting too excited – but could we have taken the first steps towards getting back together?Only time will tell, I guess. Let me recap. In my last blog post on the matter two months ago, here, I wrote that any hopes of getting back together seemed dead.

We had planned to go for relationship counselling over “the trans thing” – we’d had a joint introductory session at Derby LGBT+ Centre, and then I’d been back for a one-to-one session.

The purpose of the latter is to assess how well you are in terms of your mental health. You’re rated between zero and four. Zero means you’re completely sane and four means you’re at risk of suicide. In a nutshell.

0
Oy! Nutter!

I got marked zero. “Who wants to be a zero?” Alain Prost once famously asked. Well, me. In this case.

Then I waited weeks and weeks and bloody weeks for Georgie to make her appointment – and nothing happened. She couldn’t get hold of the chap she needed to speak to, Connor. I thought maybe she wasn’t trying hard enough.

I thought all was dead in the water and I signed up to a few dating sites. My heart wasn’t really in it, but I did meet one girl and we went on a couple of dates.

She’s absolutely fabulous and we got along famously – but there just wasn’t that spark, so nothing developed. Hope we can stay friends, though.

Anyway, I got a Whatsapp message from Georgie the other day saying that she’d finally booked an appointment – for earlier today. You could have knocked me down with a feather.

So I texted her last night to wish her good luck with it. She replied to say she was dreading it. I half expected her to cancel the appointment – she’s got form here. Her work comes first and I’ve known her to cancel loads of appointments with doctors and the like in the past.

But at 11.44am, she texted thus:

Hey you, had my first session with Connor. All went fine. I’m a 1. Seeing him every Tuesday.

Bloody hell! Two things – first, she’s actually serious about this. There’s no way Georgie Girl would sign up to see a counsellor once a week if she wasn’t.

And two – she was rated a one on the zero-to-four scale. She added:

I’m feeling fine. He was very easy to talk to. Ha ha, I’m more of a nutter than you!

Mind you, I could have told her that. ;o)

So there you have it, dear reader. Connor’s going to call me to arrange my weekly appointments and I guess we’ll take it from there.

Andie x

3 thoughts on “Hey there, Georgie girl!

Leave a Reply

